български Español Čeština Dansk Deutsch Ελληνικά English Eesti keel Français Italiano Latviešu Lietuvių kalba Magyar Malti Nederlands Polski Português Română Slovenčina Slovenščina Suomi Svenska  
Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge
Pictures of the Month

João de Deus Pinheiro MEP

The interparliamentary delegations have the task of maintaining and developing Parliament's international contacts. They provide specific expertise in the form of practical knowledge and political understanding of situations, and of individuals, in the countries and regions for which they are responsible.
The EPP-ED Group has the largest number of Members involved in interparliamentary delegations, holding the Chairmanship of 13 standing Delegations as well as Co-Chairmanship of the Euro-Latin American Parliamentary Assembly (EuroLat). Thanks to the strong commitment of our Members in the various delegations, their contribution significantly enhances the parliamentary dimension of the EU's external action.

João de Deus Pinheiro MEP (Portugal)
EPP-ED Group Vice-Chairman responsible for the International Relations

10-12/02/2009 3rd EP-Afghanistan Interparliamentary Meeting, Brussels
16-17/02/2009 11th EU-Georgia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee, Brussels
16-17/02/2009 11th EU-Russia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee, Brussels
18-19/02/2009 7th EU-Mongolia Interparliamentary Meeting, Brussels
22-27/02/2009 32nd EU-Australia Interparliamentary Meeting, Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne


EPP-ED Hearing: EU-US relations re-launch at the start of the Obama Era. Joseph Daul MEP en
EU-Libya talks must include immigration. Simon Busuttil MEP en
Nickolay Mladenov MEP to lead EU Election Observation Mission to Ghana en


Interparliamentary delegations News December 2008 *.pdfen
Interparliamentary delegations Special America November 2008 *.pdfen
Interparliamentary delegations Special USA News October 2008 *.pdfen
Interparliamentary delegations News October 2008 *.pdfen


List of EPP-ED Chairmen of Delegations
List of EPP-ED Members by Delegation
List of EPP-ED Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Delegations


European Parliament site on International Delegations
European Commission site on International Relations
EPP-ED in the Member States


International Relations - Interparliamentary Delegations,
EPP-ED Group in the European Parliament
Head of Unit: Joanna Jarecka
Assistant: Marie Anne Lepape
Phone: +32-2-28 43394
Fax: +32-2-28-49040
e-mail: marieanne.lepape@europarl.europa.eu

Joint Parliamentary Committees (JPC)

Joint Parliamentary Committees are based on association agreements or stabilisation and association agreements and exist with candidate and applicant countries in Europe (Croatia, FYROM, Turkey), as well as with two non-European countries, Chile and Mexico. A European Economic Area (EEA) Joint Parliamentary Committee is established in accordance with the EEA Agreement.

Delegation to the EU-Turkey Joint Parliamentary Committee
Delegation to the EU-Croatia Joint Parliamentary Committee
Delegation to the EU-FYR-Macedonia Joint Parliamentary Committee
Delegation to Switzerland, Iceland and Norway and to the European Economic Area (EEA) Joint Parliamentary Committee
Delegation to the EU-Mexico Joint Parliamentary Committee
Delegation to the EU-Chile Joint Parliamentary Committee

Interparliamentary Assemblies

Members of the European Parliament also participate in a number of assemblies of national parliamentarians. These assemblies are the Assembly of EU, African, Caribbean and Pacific countries, Euro-Mediterranean countries, Euro-Latin American countries and the NATO member countries assembly.

Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly
Delegation to the Euro-Mediterranean Parliamentary Assembly
Delegation to the Euro-Latin American Parliamentary Assembly
Delegation to NATO Parliamentary Assembly

Parliamentary Cooperation Committees (PCC)

Parliamentary Cooperation Committees are based on specific agreements, with the countries which are part of the "European Neighbourhood Policy" (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine) and with those with which Europe concluded Partnership and Cooperation Agreements (PCA) such as Russia, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan.

Delegation to EU-Russia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee
Delegation to EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Cooperation Committee
Delegation to EU-Moldova Parliamentary Cooperation Committee
Delegation to EU-Kazakhstan, EU-Kyrgyzstan and EU-Uzbekistan Parliamentary Cooperation Committees, and for relations with Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Mongolia
Delegation to EU-Armenia, EU-Azerbaijan and EU-Georgia Parliamentary Cooperation Committees

Other Interparliamentary Delegations (IPD)

These interparliamentary delegations where established to strenghten the parliamentary dimension of our dialogue with a large number of third countries worldwide. In Europe, they have been established with Switzerland, Iceland and Norway, the Western Balkan countries, namely Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia, Kosovo and Montenegro as well as with Belarus, on a voluntary basis.

Delegation to South Asia
Delegation to India
Delegation to Afghanistan
Delegation to South-East Europe
Delegation to Belarus
Delegation to Israel
Delegation to Palestinian Legislative Council
Delegation to Maghreb countries and the Arab Maghreb Union (including Libya)
Delegation to Mashreq countries
Delegation to Gulf States, including Yemen
Delegation to Iran
Delegation to Iraq
Delegation to United States
Delegation to Canada
Delegation to Central America
Delegation to Andean Community
Delegation to Mercosur
Delegation to Japan
Delegation to People's Republic of China
Delegation to Southeast Asia and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
Delegation to Korean Peninsula
Delegation to Australia and New Zealand
Delegation to South Africa
Ad Hoc Delegation for relations with the Pan-African Parliament

The Transatlantic Legislator's Dialogue (TLD)

This is a special type of interparliamentary cooperation. Its task is to enhance parliamentary ties between the European Union and the USA Congress, supports the activity developed by the EP Delegation for relations with the United States.